Partnership for Peace

Print-ready fact-sheet
VAZIANI TRAINING AREA, Georgia — Troops from Georgia, the United States, Armenia, Azerbaijan and the Ukraine stood together, here, for the last time on July 30, at the closing ceremony of this year's Immediate Response exercise.  During the exercise troops conducted hundreds of live-fire and situational training exercises; combat lifesaver classes; and Improvised Explosive Device training.  Immediate Response is an annual bilateral security cooperation exercise conducted between the U.S. and NATO and coalition partners.  The purpose of this year's exercise was to increase the cooperation and partnership between U.S. and Georgian forces while preparing the Georgian Military for operations in Iraq. (Department of Defense photo by Army Capt. Bryan Woods)

Partnership for Peace (PfP) is a major NATO initiative introduced in January 1994. The program aims to enhance cooperation and stability in central and eastern European countries while increasing interoperability between partner nations and NATO.

The core objectives PfP nations pursue are creating transparency in national defense planning and budgeting processes; ensuring democratic control of defense forces; developing interoperable forces and command and control structures; and preparing partner nations to contribute to NATO operations. There are currently 22 PfP member-states located in Europe and central Asia.

PfP plays a crucial role in contributing to peace and stability in the Euro-Atlantic area and is integral for aspirant countries to gain NATO interoperability and membership. PfP has helped improve participating nations militarily capability in NATO-led peacekeeping operations. Funding for eligible partner nations is provided through Warsaw Initiative Funds.

A “toolbox” of PfP tools and mechanisms supports cooperation through a mix of policies, programs, action plans and arrangements. At the Lisbon Summit in November 2010, as part of a focused reform effort to develop a more efficient and flexible partnership policy, allied leaders decided to take steps to streamline NATO’s partnership tools and open all cooperative activities and exercises to harmonize partnership programs – whether partners are Euro-Atlantic partners, countries participating in the Mediterranean Dialogue and the Istanbul Cooperation Initiative, or global partners.

Related Topics

Flag of Albania


Flag of Armenia


Flag of Austria


Flag of Azerbaijan


Flag of Belarus


Flag of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Flag of Bulgaria


Flag of Croatia


Flag of Czech Republic

Czech Republic

Flag of Estonia


Flag of Finland


Flag of Georgia


Flag of Hungary


Flag of Ireland


Flag of Latvia


Flag of Lithuania


Flag of Macedonia

Republic of Macedonia

Flag of Malta


Flag of Moldova


Flag of Montenegro


Flag of Poland


Flag of Romania


Flag of Russia


Flag of Serbia


Flag of Slovakia


Flag of Slovenia


Flag of Sweden


Flag of Switzerland


Flag of Ukraine


Media Releases RSS

Blog Posts

Brigadier General Holt is the Director of Logistics, Headquarters United States European Command, Stuttgart-Vaihingen, Germany. He oversees the direction and management of international agreements and the coordinated logistical support of the United States European Command.January 6, 2014Logistics centre carries on ISAF interoperability lessons learnedThe Director of U.S. European Command Directorate of Logistics is the newly-elected Chairman of the Board for the Multinational Logistics Coordination Centre and in this blog he talks about his visit to the centre and the benefits it brings to the members and USEUCOM.
Members of the Polish Armed forces render a salute during an Aviation Detachment (AV DET) activation ceremony on the flightline of Lask Air Base, Poland, Nov. 9, 2012. The AV DET will be an enduring presence with 10 Airmen, but F-16 and C-130 crews and aircraft will rotate periodically for training, where the total number of personnel could surge up to 250. The AV DET supports Poland's continued defense modernization and standardization with the U.S. and North Atlantic Treaty Organization. July 26, 2013Aviation Detachment Deployment to Poland Shows U.S. Commitment to EuropeRecently I have read of concern in Poland of decreasing U.S. engagement due to the U.S. “rebalance” to Asia, thereby losing interest in Poland and Europe as strategic partners. Nothing could be further from the truth!
More Blog Posts >


File photo of a Heavy Airlift Wing Boeing C-17 Globemaster taking out in Papa, Hungary to provide strategic airlift capability to meet mission requirements. (Photo by MCS 3rd Class Ville Tuokko) April 29, 2014Heavy Airlift Wing supports expanded land force training activities in the Baltic region The Strategic Airlift Capability Heavy Airlift Wing has been executing several airlift missions with its Boeing C-17 Globemaster III long range cargo jets to support the expanded land force training activities of the SAC nations’ armed forces in Poland, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia.
December 16, 2013LOGEX workshop enhances logistics interoperability LOGEX was held at the Finnish Defence Forces International Center in Tuusula, Finland, Dec. 2 - 13, 2013, with the aim to enhance interoperability among participants in the planning and execution of forming, deploying, sustaining and redeploying units.
More Articles >